Forest Management Committee Members

The Forest Management Committee consists of seven members who have interest, knowledge or experience in multi-resource forest management, which includes forest ecology, forest management, watershed management, wildlife, fisheries, botany and recreation. Of the seven members, five must live within Arcata City limits and two may live or work in the Arcata Planning Area. See current vacancies and residency qualifications.


Committee members serve three year staggered terms ending July 31.

Lowell Diller
Term: 2015
Russell Forsburg
Term: 2017
Michael Furniss, Chair
Term: 2017
Danny Hagans
Term: 2016

Dennis Halligan, Vice Chair
Term: 2015

Jack Naylor
Term: 2015
Yana Valachovic
Term: 2016
Staff Liaison: Mark Andre
Environmental Services
Powers and Duties

The powers and duties of the Forest Management Committee are as specified in the Arcata Municipal Code, Sections 2234 to 2237. These powers and duties are outlined as follows:

A. To serve in an advisory capacity to the Council, Commissions or City staff as appropriate in matters relating to:

  1. Implementation of the Arcata Community Forest/Jacoby Creek Forest Management Plan;
  2. Forestry issues within the Arcata Planning Area; and
  3. Forest management issues on other City-owned forest land.

B. To review timber harvest plans prior to their filing with the California Department of Forestry for conformance with the goals and policies of the Forest Management Plan, Monitoring Plans and Recreation Plans.
C. To make recommendations to the Council for amendments to the Forest Management Plan that may become desirable based upon experience with implementation.